<script> <style>

Americana: Matt Patershuk - IF WISHES WERE HORSES

Label Black Hen Music
Release Date November 22 - 2019
Somewhere out past where the highway ends, far from the creative meccas of
Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver, one of Canada’s best-kept musical secrets has
been perfecting his craft. For more than a decade now, Matt Patershuk - who
resides in rural northern Alberta - has been writing and performing some of the
most beautiful, endearing and true music ever created in Canada.

His newest album, If Wishes Were Horses, on the Black Hen Music label, communicates the huge strides Matt has made as an artist since the release of Same As I Have Ever Been, his last release from 2017,
and represents his fourth collaboration with the award winning string player and producer, Steve Dawson.
The natural chemistry, intuition and trust that Steve and Matt have developed over the years can be heard in every song on If Wishes Were Horses as the pair have created a flowing, organic sound that is seamless from beginning to end.
These new songs cover a lot of territory, ranging from country waltzes to straight up folk and greasy blues. If Wishes Were Horses is a creative tour de force that perfectly illuminates the scope of the La Glace, Alberta resident’s musical talents.

The songs on If Wishes Were Horses extend the themes of individual integrity, hard work, family and loss that have been explored on all of Matt Patershuk’s recordings. Like those of John Prine and Kris Kristofferson, Matt’s songs communicate the significance of small moments. Rendered in simple language, his lyrics extrapolate on what he has seen so that his observations become touchstones for deeper, universal insights and experiences, exploring the thin line between winning and losing, tenderness and resolve.

Whether he’s recounting a bad night in the life of a country legend as he does on ‘Ernest Tubb Had Fuzzy Slippers’ or
howling the blues of ‘Red Hot Poker’, Matt’s voice is so intimate, lived in and true that you almost don’t have to listen to the lyrics to understand what he’s singing about. When he approaches a country song like ‘Let’s Give This Bottle a Black Eye’, the delivery is so natural and worn in that you could be forgiven for thinking it was an undiscovered gem by Hank
Williams or George Jones. When he sings a blues like ‘Velvet Bulldozer’ - an original tune written from the perspective of Albert King working his day job - his unforced growl is so deep and pure that the distance between the singer and thesong disappears.

A master songwriter, it’s in the intersection between lyrics and melody that Matt Patershuk’s musical magic finds its truest
expression. Other highlights include a bluesy take on Jerry Garcia’s ‘Sugaree’ that perfectly complements the mood set
by the original songs. In a departure from Matt’s usual approach to structuring an album, four instrumental tracks are
interspersed throughout If Wishes Were Horses. They are all variations on a single melody that are spooky, moody,
cinematic, and lilting - sometimes all at the same time - and work as gorgeous extensions of Matt’s songs.
Like all Black Hen recordings, If Wishes Were Horses is a musical treat from beginning to end. To make these new songs come to life, producer Steve Dawson gathered a fine band including Chris Gestrin (keys), Jeremy Holmes (bass) and
Gary Craig (drums) to record at Vancouver’s acoustically perfect Warehouse Studios. Hunkered down in the studio together, the songs unfolded naturally and in real time. Studio legend Charlie McCoy dropped by to add some tasty
harmonica and Kristin Weber and Larissa Maestro were brought on board to contribute strings and background vocals on several songs.
With its beautiful songs, powerful singing and gorgeous instrumentation, If Wishes Were Horses will surely be remembered as one of the most exciting roots releases of 2019. On ‘Velvet Bulldozer’ Matt sings, “I sit back and smoke my pipe. I think of my voice on the radio and wonder, man, what would that be like?” If there’s any justice in the world, Matt Patershuk won’t have to wonder for much longer.

Tracklist: Matt Patershuk  - IF WISHES WERE HORSES
1. The Blues Don’t Bother Me (3:41)
2. Ernest Tubb Had Fuzzy Slippers (5:10)
3. Horse 1 (For Bravery & Good Fortune) (2:22)
4. Sugaree (5:00)
5. Circus (3:58)
6. Alberta Waltz (3:42)
7. Horse 2 (For Lighter Loads) (0:46)
8. Velvet Bulldozer (4:06)
9. Let’s Give This Bottle a Black Eye (2:48)
10. Horse 3 (To Know the Future) (0:47)
11. Bear Chase (3:22)
12. Walkin’ (4:13)
13. Horse 4 (For Fond Remembrance) (0:49)
14. Last Dance (4:26)
15. Red Hot Poker (5:05)

www.facebook.com/mattpatershuk www.twitter.com/@mattpatershuk

For further information or interview requests please contact Geraint or Deb Jones at G Promo PR · Email: gpromo@btinternet.com · Web: www.gpromopr.com 

Geen opmerkingen: