Release: Popa Chubby – Two Dogs Available in U.S.A November 27th

Release: Popa Chubby – Two Dogs Available in U.S.A November 27th

Popa Chubby drops a big, bad, sonic bomb with his excellent and timely new album, “Two Dogs.” On it, Popa explores myriad musical styles and genres while keeping it close to his rock and soul core. You’ll hear the Popa you know and love and things you haven’t heard before.

Popa started work on “Two Dogs” with a lot of amazing sounds in his head and powerful feelings in his heart. Recorded at his home studio in New York’s Hudson Valley, Popa engineered and produced the record. He also plays drums, bass and percussion on some tracks. Renowned keyboard player and Popa’s long-time collaborator, Dave Keyes, appears throughout the album. Popa’s daughter, Tipitina Horowitz, plays trumpet and contributes horn compositions. And ace drummer, Sam “Freightrain” Bryant keeps the beat real and rocking.
In the album’s liner notes, Popa expresses how he feels about the times we live in and expands on the inspiration behind the title song: “We have become polarized as a race. There is a battle inside each of us. Each day we rise and must choose our path calling upon each other and our own spirits for strength and courage. The dog we feed is the one that rules, the dog we starve dies of neglect. It is up to each of us to use our spirit to feed the dog that will enable all of us to thrive.”

This quote from a review of “Two Dogs” published in Blues Magazine does a good job of summing up the man and his music: “To call him a blues artist is to belittle who he is and what he stands for. Horowitz is so much more than that: Singer, songwriter, guitar stylist, his passions run deep and shine bright. With a performance style he describes as “the Stooges meets Buddy Guy, Motörhead meets Muddy Waters, and Jimi Hendrix meets Robert Johnson,” Popa Chubby is an endearing character who is one of the genre’s most popular and innovative figures.”

1. It’s Alright 4:13
2. Rescue Me 3:57
3. Preexisting Conditions 4:52
4. Sam Lay’s Pistol 4:19
5. Two Dogs 3:45
6. Dirty Old Blues 5:43
7. Shakedown 4:18
8. Wound Up Getting High 6:01
9. Cayophus Dupree 4:48
10. Me Won’t Back Down 4:42
11. Chubby’s Boogie 6:07
12. Sympathy for the Devil 5:19
13. Hallelujah 9:42

Intrepid Artists Int’l, Inc.

Frank Roszak, KBA Awardee 2014