Delbert McClinton - Tall, Dark, and Handsome

Release date: Friday, July 26th 2019

Bertus Distribustie
(Thirty Tigers / Hot Shot Records)
Featuring 14 new, original new songs - all written or co-written by Roots music visionary Delbert McClinton, the album dives deep into the blues, Americana and beyond, bursting with horns, fiddle, accordion, blazing guitar work, back-up singers and McClinton’s charismatic rasp, proving Lyle Lovett’s claim that “if we could all sing like we want to, we’d all sound like Delbert McClinton.”

Tall, Dark & Handsome features Delbert’s band the Self-Made Men + Dana: Dana Robbins (saxophone), Jack Bruno (drums), Mike Joyce (bass), Bob Britt (guitar), James Pennebaker (guitar), Kevin McKendree (keyboards), Quentin Ware (trumpet), Dennis Wage (keyboards).

McClinton has three GRAMMY Awards, and his previous three albums have all reached # 1 or #2 on Billboard’s Blues chart.  With over 60 years of recording and touring to his credit, McClinton is a true musical zelig: he toured with the Beatles, backed Bo Diddley and Howlin’ Wolf, helped to inspire The Blues Brothers, and performed everywhere from SNL to Austin City Limits (both multiple times) along the way. His songs have been covered by Buddy Guy, Bonnie Raitt, Garth Brooks, Vince Gill, Waylon Jennings, and Wynonna Judd - to name a few.


1. Mr. Smith 04:03
2. If I Hock My Guitar 02:08
3. No Chicken on the Bone 03:07
4. Let's Get Down Like We Used To 03:03
5. Gone to Mexico 02:16
6. Lulu 03:04
7. Loud Mouth 03:06
8. Down in the Mouth 02:08
9. Ruby & Jules 03:01
10. Any Other Way 03:22
11. A Fool Like Me 03:07
12. Can't Get Up 02:36
13. Temporarily Insane 04:05
14. A Poem 01:01

For more information: or contact

Geen opmerkingen: